Books

Weekend Reading

36849369

I read Three Days Missing by Kimberly Belle in record time! I began it on Monday night and finished it on Tuesday. Not only is it fast-paced but the writing is smooth and flows so quickly that you too will probably reading this in a single sitting or within a few hours!

A single mother, a restraining order against the father and a child missing while on an overnight camping trip is the main plot. Adding to the panic of the little boy gone is the son of the mayor, the child actually intended for the kidnapping. The story switches perspective from the mother whose son is gone to the mother whose son should have been taken.

Who has taken the child and why? Where is he?

Here’s the official synopsis:

When Kat Jenkins awakens to the police on her doorstep, her greatest fear is realized. Her nine-year-old son, Ethan, is missing—vanished from the cabin where he’d been on an overnight field trip with his class. Shocked and distraught, Kat rushes to the campground where he was last seen. But she’s too late; the authorities have returned from their search empty-handed after losing Ethan’s trail in the mountain forest.

Another mother from the school, Stef Huntington, seems like she has it all: money, prominence in the community, a popular son and a loving husband. She hardly knows Kat, except for the vicious gossip that swirls around Kat’s traumatic past. But as the police investigation unfolds, Ethan’s disappearance will have earth-shattering consequences in Stef’s own life—and the paths of these two mothers are about to cross in ways no one could have anticipated.

Racing against the clock, their desperate search for answers begins—one where the greatest danger could lie behind the everyday smiles of those they trust the most.

A really good book that you will tear through!

 

34909789

 

This weekend I plan to get started on Social Creature by Tara Isabella Burton. Fans of Gillian Flynn and Donna Tartt will love this one, because it promises to be dark and creepy. Plus, look at that cover! It got my attention right away.

Here’s what you need to know: 

Louise has nothing. Lavinia has everything. After a chance encounter, the two spiral into an intimate, intense, and possibly toxic friendship. A Talented Mr. Ripley for the digital age, this seductive story takes a classic tale of obsession and makes it irresistibly new.

What caught my attention was the comparison to Gillian Flynn as well as the mention of The Talented Mr. Ripley, a book that all suspense fans should read. Social Creature is getting rave reviews and already know I’m going to love it.

35542451

It’s not uncommon for me to read two books at once. Usually, I read a non-fiction during the day and fiction at night. I’m about to start Girl, Wash Your Face by Rachel Hollis. I am always looking for a good book full of wise and sage advice and this book definitely doles it out.

Here’s what you need to know:

Founder of the lifestyle website TheChicSite.com and CEO of her own media company, Chic Media, Rachel Hollis has created an online fan base of hundreds of thousands of fans by sharing tips for living a better life while fearlessly revealing the messiness of her own. Now comes her highly anticipated first book featuring her signature combination of honesty, humor, and direct, no-nonsense advice.

Each chapter of Girl, Wash Your Face begins with a specific lie Hollis once believed that left her feeling overwhelmed, unworthy, or ready to give up. As a working mother, a former foster parent, and a woman who has dealt with insecurities about her body and relationships, she speaks with the insight and kindness of a BFF, helping women unpack the limiting mind-sets that destroy their self-confidence and keep them from moving forward.

From her temporary obsession with marrying Matt Damon to a daydream involving hypnotic iguanas to her son’s request that she buy a necklace to “be like the other moms,” Hollis holds nothing back. With unflinching faith and tenacity, Hollis spurs other women to live with passion and hustle and to awaken their slumbering goals.

 

33898874

Just picked up Class Mom by Laurie Gelman from the library! Have you read it? It sounds like its going to be a quick and funny read.

Jen Dixon is not your typical Kansas City kindergarten class mom–or mom in general. Jen already has two college-age daughters by two different (probably) musicians, and it’s her second time around the class mom block with five-year-old Max–this time with a husband and father by her side. Though her best friend and PTA President sees her as the-wisest-candidate for the job (or oldest), not all of the other parents agree.

From recording parents’ response times to her emails about helping in the classroom, to requesting contributions of-special-brownies for curriculum night, not all of Jen’s methods win approval from the other moms. Throw in an old flame from Jen’s past, a hyper-sensitive -allergy mom,-a surprisingly sexy kindergarten teacher, and an impossible-to-please Real Housewife-wannabe, causing problems at every turn, and the job really becomes much more than she signed up for.

39005742

Here’s another thriller that looks like its going to be a gripping read. The Family a No. 13 by S.D. Monaghan

The most perfect lives can hide the darkest secrets…Mary has everything. Beautiful and rich, she lives on an exclusive street in the heart of the city, in a house with gorgeous views and an immaculately maintained garden. Her life looks perfect.

But behind closed doors, the truth is very different. Her husband Andrew barely speaks to her, spending his days down in the basement alone. Her teenage nephew is full of rage, lashing out with no warning. Her carefully constructed life is beginning to fall apart.

And then someone starts sending Mary anonymous notes, threatening her and her family… Everyone has secrets. But is someone at number 13 hiding something that could put the whole family in danger?

The premise seems intriguing and this looks like the kind of book that I sit down to read and completely get lost in!

 

 

 

Liked it? Take a second to support Cindy on Patreon!